HOST 2023 | IEEE International Symposium on Hardware Oriented Security and Trust

Brian Cohen Memorial Award

  • Brian Cohen

2022 BEST Hardware Demo Awards

  • First Place

    SCAbox: A Framework for Facilitating FPGA-based Side-Channel Analysis
    • Joseph Gravellier, Dahoux Sami, Jean-Max Dutertre, Yannick Teglia and Philippe Loubet-Moundi
  • Second Place

    Implementing Digital Sensor on FPGA Detecting Faults via Voltage, Temperature and Clock Glitches
    • Md Toufiq Hasan Anik, Mohammad Ebrahimabadi, Javad Bahrami, Jean-Luc Danger, Sylvain Guilley and Naghmeh Karimi
  • Third Place

    The Huzz: Instruction Fuzzing of Processors Using Golden-Reference Models for Finding Software-Exploitable Vulnerabilities
    • Rahul Kande, Addison Crump, Garrett Persyn, Patrick Jauernig, Georges Alsankary, Ahmad-Reza Sadeghi, Aakash Tyagi and Jeyavijayan Rajendran
  • Attendee’s Choice

    eChain: A Blockchain based ecosystem for Trusted Electronic Devices
    • Nidish Vashistha, Muhammad Monir Hossain, Farimah Farahmandi, Fahim Rahman and Mark Tehranipoor

2022 BEST Microelectronics Competition Awards

  • IP Security Track

    Gator Hardware Oriented Security Team (GHOST)
    • Md Kawser Bepary, Hasan Al-Shiakh, Shuvagata Saha, Dipayan Saha, Amit Mazumder Shuvo, Mridha Md Mashahedur Rahman, and Fahim Rahman
  • SoC Security Track

    OSU ESL Team
    • Islam Elsadek, Sherif Abouzeid, Ahmed Ghonem, Elsayed Elgendy, Jeremy Porter, and Mika Brattain
  • Supply Chain Security Track

    UNC-Charlotte Hardware and Embedded Design and Security HEADS ML Model for counterfeit detection Team
    • Chaitanya Bhure, Geraldine Shirley Nichloas, and Fareena Saqib

2022 Ph.D. Competition Award

  • Principled and Practical Security for Computing Hardware
    • Gururaj Saileshwar
    • Advisor: Dr. Moinuddin Qureshi
    • School: Georgia Institute of Technology

2022 BEST Paper Awards

  • Best Paper Award

    Multiphysics Simulation of EM Side-Channels from Silicon Backside with ML-based Auto-POI Identification
    • Lang Lin, Deqi Zhu, Jimin Wen, Hua Chen, Yu Lu, Norman Chang, Calvin Chow, Harsh Shrivastav, Chia-Wei Chen*, Kazuki Monta# and Makoto Nagata#
  • Paper Recognition Award

    A Cache Attacks on the Apple A10 Fusion SoC
    • Gregor Haas, Seetal Potluri and Aydin Aysu
  • Paper Recognition Award

    Cross-VM Information Leaks in FPGA-Accelerated Cloud Environments
    • Ilias Giechaskiel, Shanquan Tian* and Jakub Szefer*

2022 BEST WiP Paper Award

  • Warm Up before Circuit De-obfuscation? An Exploration through Bounded-Model-Checker
    • Kimia Zamiri Azar, Hadi Mardani Kamali, Farimah Farahmandi and Mark Tehranipoor

HOST Hall of Fame

Jim Plusquellic
Jim Plusquellic
University of New Mexico
Mark Tehranipoor
Mark Tehranipoor
University of Florida
Saverio Fazzari
Saverio Fazzari
Booz Allen Hamilton
Farinaz Koushanfar
Farinaz Koushanfar
UC San Diego
Ken Mai
Ken Mai
Carnegie Mellon University
Matt Casto
Matt Casto
Srini Devadas
Srini Devadas
Yousef Iskander
Yousef Iskander
Gang Qu
Gang Qu
University of Maryland

  • Jim PlusquellicUniversity of New Mexico
    Mark TehranipoorUniversity of Florida
    For contributions as HOST co-founders, general chairs, steering committee, and numerous initiatives since the beginning of the conference.

  • Saverio FazzariBooz Allen Hamilton
    For contributions to establishing HOST as a preeminent conference in the government and industrial sectors.

  • Farinaz KoushanfarUC San Diego
    For contributions as the first General Chair not co-located with DAC and Steering Committee member.

  • Ken MaiCarnegie Mellon University
    For serving as General Chair in 2011 and 2012 during early transitional years from workshop to symposium.

  • Matt CastoAFRL
    Providing 15+ years of leadership, vision, and support to grow the hardware security community.

  • Srini DevadasMIT
    For outstanding innovations in the field of hardware and architecture security.

  • Yousef IskanderMicrosoft
    For 15+ years of contribution to the field of hardware security and supporting academic research.

  • Gang QuUniversity of Maryland
    For 20+ years of contribution to the field of hardware security and community service.